Under state law at the time of incorporation, the chief official of the village was called the Village President

The Village of Cedarhurst’s first President was James H.P. Vandewater. He died on May 8, 1912. A change in village law in 1927 required a mayor and four trustees.

The village’s first two trustees were Abraham Adelberg and John J. Campbell Sr. The village’s first officers were elected on the Square Deal ticket. Village officials held their meetings in the Weyant Coal Office on Spruce St. until 1919 when it was moved to larger quarters at 112 Spruce St. The present Village Hall at 200 Cedarhurst Ave. was completed in 1959.

Board of Trustees

Our Village citizens elect the Board of Trustees on a rotating basis. Presiding is the Mayor. Public Board Meetings are held on the first Monday of each month.



Benjamin Weinstock

Mayor: 2015 - Present

Deputy Mayor: 2003 - 2015 Trustee: 1994 - 2015 Deputy Village Attorney: 1988 - 1994


Ronald Lanzilotta Sr.

Deputy Mayor 2015 - Present

Zoning Board: 1987 – 2001 Trustee: 2001 – 2015

Ari Brown

Trustee 2001 - Present

Zoning Board: 1998 – 2001

Myrna Zisman

Trustee 2006 – Present

Zoning Board: 2006 – 2006

Israel Wasser

Trustee 2015 – Present

Zoning Board 2014-2015

Village Administrator

Salvatore Evola

Village Administrator 2003 – Present

Village Attorney

Evan M. Newman

Village Attorney 2017 -