IMPORTANT COURT INFORMATION: If you received a ticket between February 1, 2020 - March 31, 2020 please call the Court Department at (516) 295-5522 before paying online.Meters and alternate side parking are suspended until Sun May 31st.

Cedarhurst Remembers: Ceremony for the Anniversary of 9/11

Published on | September 16, 2013

9/11 is a day of remembrance, not for the terrorist attack that took place on our great country, but a day of remembrance for our fallen hero’s and loved ones. Twelve years after this tragic event of September 11, 2001, the Village of Cedarhurst held its 12th annual memorial ceremony at 6:00 p.m. at the memorial plaza in Andrew J. Parise Park.Honoring those lost from our school district, Thomas Jurgens, Neil D. Levin, Kevin O’Rourke, Joseph Rivelli Jr., Bettina Browne Radburn, Ira Zaslow, and Howard Selwyn will never be forgotten in our community.

“We’re here today to remember, to pause, to reflect and to never, ever forget those who we honor on our beautiful 9/11 memorial, as well as all victims, and first responders, firefighters, police and court officers. It is our small way of honoring and cherishing their memory”, said Mayor Andrew J. Parise in his opening speech. Religious leaders of various faiths and elected officials attended the ceremony as well as to relay words of wisdom, healing and prayer to our great community and to those fallen hero’s and loved ones.

Mayor, Andrew J. Parise and the board of trustees would like to personally thank the chaplains of the Law-Ced fire department, Rev. Msgr. Paul F. Rahilly of St Joachim’s RC Church, Rabbi Kenneth Hain of Temple Beth Sholom, LHS vocal ensemble Pam Gallopini, Arnel Apura, Shelby Applebaum, Gizzel George, Patricia Magliaro, Alexandra Spinelli, and the fire departments of Law-Ced, Inwood, and Woodmere. Your presence brought dignity, grace and honor to a day that will be etched in our hearts forever.